Who Are We

Our Denomination

Fair Play Presbyterian Church is a member of the Foothills Presbytery of the Presbyterian Church (USA) . In 1983 in Atlanta , Georgia, the United Presbyterian Church in the U.S.A. and the Presbyterian Church in the United States voted to reunite and become the Presbyterian Church (USA). The symbol shown here is the seal of the new denomination born in 1983.

For more information about the PC(USA) click below.

PC(USA) Info

Our Government

The Presbyterian Church is a representative democracy. It governs itself by representatives chosen from the local congregation. There are four levels of government. The local church is governed by the “Session” which is made up of our Pastor (Teaching Elder) and Ruling Elders elected by the congregation of Fair Play Presbyterian Church (FPPC). The next level is the “Presbytery “. FPPC is a member of Foothills Presbytery which is comprised of every minister and at least one Elder from each of the Presbyterian congregations in the upstate of South Carolina. The next level is the “Synod”. FPPC is part of the South Atlantic Synod whose boundaries include the states of South Carolina , Georgia, and Florida. The highest level of government is the “General Assembly ” which is made up of representatives from each Presbytery within the denomination according to the number of members in the Presbytery .

The Session of FPPC is governed by The Constitution of the Presbyterian Church (USA). This includes Part I – Book of Confessions and Part II – Book of Order.